recipes of the week

I’m attempting to be more regular about this ol’ blogging thing. :-) We’ll see how long THAT lasts, huh? But I used to do a favorite recipe post and I currently have quite the stack of delicious morsels to share with you.

Roasted Apple Spice Cake – deb from smittenkitchen has yet to steer me wrong. I am anxiously awaiting her cookbook, which my sweet friend Lindsey pre-ordered for me for my birthday in June – it should arrive on my doorstep on Nov. 1. One more week! This cake is off the chain fabulous. Simple, not too sweet (which I really appreciate these days) and delicious. I love a fall apple cake warm from the oven – this is one to keep for sure. To make one 9×13 cake like i did (the recipe as written makes a DOUBLE layer sheet cake – which is gigantic), just halve the cake recipe and do 1/3 of the frosting recipe.

Butternut Squash Chicken Stew with Quinoa - I came across this on Pinterest and its been a winner. Everybody likes it in our house. (thank goodness for that!) My only tweaks are to leave out the olives because who likes THOSE in stew? Gross. I don’t like them anytime, but especially not randomly tossed into a stew. Sometimes I also add kale or chard for some extra nutritional punch.

Coconut Chai Coffeecake – yep. so good. Crunchy, dense, buttery topping on a perfect crumbed cake. You’ll want a steaming mug of coffee to cut through the sweetness, but that’s the whole point of coffeecake, yes?

Pumpkin Scones – a basic recipe for recreating something similar to a Starbucks pumpkin scone. But better. I usually skip one of the glazes because otherwise I find them wayyyy too sweet, but that’s just me, I’m sure. I also found that the liquid amount is too little – I always add a bit more than the recipe calls for. Favorite way to do these is to make them the night before, shape them and pop them in the fridge. Then pre-heat the oven in the morning, bake and glaze the hot little bites of fall just before serving. We had these at Taylor’s birthday party earlier this month.

Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage and Carrots - I’m totally obsessed with this salad. I’ve made it approximately 6 times in the past 4 weeks. Thankfully, I have an abundance of kale in my little hydroponic deck garden. The apples, cashews and pop of brightness from the lime juice really make it work. How can something sooo healthy for you taste soooo good? Try it! It would also work with spinach if you’re not a big kale fan. But if you haven’t TRIED kale, I implore you to get some and join the kale party. Stat. It’s such a beautiful salad too.

And now, all the recipes I haven’t yet made, but are on my to-make-ASAP list:

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls – I know, right? Two of the best things about fall – pumpkin and baking warm, cinnamon-ey things, put together! I will make a full report on how they are as soon as I make them.

Double Dipped Apple Doughnuts – I think I’d call these deep friend apple rings, but ya know, she didn’t ask me. :-) I bookmarked these ages ago. I bet they’ll be tasty!

Earl Grey Chocolate Cake - This week I broke out the tea pot and have been making an enormous cup of strong earl grey with cream and a touch of sugar most mornings. This cake intrigues me to no end…once upon a time I had an Earl Grey truffle at the amazingness that is Theo.

I promise, I do cook really healthily 90% of the time and don’t continually bake my way to 300 lbs. Not that the past three recipes would give you that impression or anything. ahem.

Pumpkin and Sage Ravioli – I will probably not make my own pasta sheets for this (I’m not Martha Stewart, poppets), but i absolutely adore these flavor profiles, so I thought it sounded like something i should make. Totally girly food.

Brussels Sprouts Salad - as addicted as I am to pan-fried or roasted brussels sprouts, I have a sneaking suspicion that I will eat the entire bowl of this salad. Possibly in one sitting. Good thing they come in 2 lb. bags at Costco. :-D

So now that you’ve gained 23 pounds just by reading this post, let me know what delicious recipes you’ve tried lately!

Leave a Reply

