good housekeeping cookbook

this morning I was on a mission to find some fun, kitschy appetizers for our classic cocktail party coming up on Friday. so I looked at my cookbook collection and pulled out the ever trusty 1963 edition of Good Housekeeping’s Cookbook. 🙂 I figured going right to the era I want to emulate would be a winner.

the 1963 edition

But egads! The combinations of flavors and some of the ideas made me a little queasy…for example:

Edam Bowl: With knife, carefully remove small cone from center top of baby Edam. Leaving rind intact, carefully scoop out chunks of cheese. Fill Edam shell with mayonnaise mixed with French dressing, half and half. Insert toothpicks into cheese chunks; arrange around Edam.

Yum! Let’s dip chunks of cheese in mayo/french dressing. EW! That sounds so gross to me.

Does the product “deviled ham” even exist anymore? And what is it? How exactly do you “devil” ham? 🙂

The stuffed celery, crescent roll wrapped cocktail “franks”, and cheese balls sound palatable and will make it onto the menu alongside the classic cocktails and party punch.

But not so much for the liver pate’, the tangy frank spread (a chopped hot dog and cheese spread over french bread slices, broiled), and the cheesy egg dunk.

I am still searching for the perfect sweet finish for the menu – a retro dessert or cake of some kind. If you have any suggestions, I’m all ears! Just please don’t include deviled ham in the ingredient list. 😉

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

5 thoughts on “good housekeeping cookbook”

  1. I have my great-grandma’s edition of Better Homes and Garden’s Cookbook from the 1930’s. It is such a treasure – but mostly for sentimental reasons because, ya, the recipes mostly sound gross.

  2. Um, some of that sounds just plain nasty. haha

    I have an old Joy of Cooking if you’d like me to peruse it for a desert. 🙂 A bundt cake might be a good idea?

    Looking forward to the par-tay!

  3. If you could get a hold of an old Betty Crocker cookbook, you’d probably find some retro desserts… although they might have some interesting ingredients in them, too :-P.

    I’m pretty sure I’ve had deviled ham before… this website describes it fairly well: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-deviled-ham.htm

    that frank spread sounds nasty. maybe because of the combination? but I’ve never been a fan of “cheese spread” (velveeta, anyone? uck).

Leave a Reply

