a little life

in late January, we found out I am pregnant with our second child. 🙂 I got even more joy out of seeing those two pink lines the second time. The first time I was so nervous and had no idea what to expect about pregnancy and giving birth, this time (even though morning sickness has been kicking my butt) I at least have a reference point of Jack’s pregnancy to go on. I know a little of what to expect from my pregnant self, I know I can handle labor with God’s grace and awesome support and I know I can get back in shape in 9 months post-partum!

Anyway – we’re thrilled. 🙂 I told Kyle the morning I took the test by putting it and this little note in front of the coffee maker – I knew he wouldn’t miss it that way.

two lines = two kids!

We gradually let the news leak out and its fun to have so many people excited with us as our family grows. I’m due the first week of October, so I get to find out what its like to be pregnant over the whole summer instead of finishing halfway through it. Jack and the new one will be 26.5 months apart, which I hope will be perfect. 🙂 Actually, I know it will be since its how God has worked things out.

Like I said earlier, morning sickness is kicking my butt this time around. And its certainly not limited to morning! 😛 Its more this low-grade, constant nausea that gets worse if I don’t get enough sleep (read: 10 hours a day/night) or forget to eat or eat certain things. Food is just this necessary evil and about the only thing that tastes good is milkshakes. Raspberry or strawberry. lol. Oh dear.

Sometimes I think about mothers in the middle of the desert in Africa and wonder if they suffer from morning sickness and how they cope when I have an arsenal of things available to me and am still a baby about it. I wish I could mail them some Tums. 🙂 Or milkshakes.

I am so thankful to the Giver of Life for this little person, even though he or she is wreaking a bit of havoc on my daily life. I am looking forward to a few weeks from now when both myself and the weather should be on the upswing and I can get outside to walk and maybe start enjoying food again. But most of all, I’m looking forward to meeting this new baby! Often I pause and think, “What ARE we doing?!” and think about how life will change in October, but I am confident that God’s grace will be sufficient once again in this adventure of life.

I know of at least 5 other women due around the same time as me, so that’s fun! It’s always a blast to go through this with others and compare notes/complaints. I’ll not wax eloquent about all things pregnancy all the time on this blog, I promise. But most of my pictures will now feature le bump. 🙂 I expected to show a little sooner this time and I am indeed sporting the evidence of being happily knocked up. This was a week and a half ago at the 8 week mark.

8 week baby bump

Here’s to a healthy pregnancy, a healthy baby and double the fun and trouble of kidlets. God has been gracious to us and we rejoice in His blessing!

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

6 thoughts on “a little life”

  1. Hey Jo,

    So great to hear this news! Even though I never post, I lurk this blog and keep up with your happenings. Am so happy for you and your little (growing!) family!

Leave a Reply

