lemon vanilla bean cheesecakelettes

The other day I was scrounging around in my cupboards and fridge and discovered three items that needed to be used up. Triple Ginger Cookies from Trader Joe’s that were in danger of staling, a whole bag of delicious lemons in danger of rotting and a block of cream cheese that begged to be used in a delectable marriage of lemon, cheesecake and gingersnaps. 🙂 So I dialed up my favorite food blog: Smitten Kitchen and found a lemon curd recipe and a new york cheesecake recipe to tweak to my own nefarious plan. Success!

I used my fun Hipstamatic app on the iPhone to capture each stage of the process and typed up my tweakings for your amusement and delight, should you have the proper ingredients. (I had to go get eggs – I hate it when I’m out of just ONE thing necessary for my culinary whims of fancy!)

Without further ado, I present to you…lemon vanilla bean cheesecakelettes.

Gingersnap Crust:

1 ¼ cups gingersnap crumbs (I used Trader Joe’s Triple Ginger Cookies – oh delish!)

3 tablespoons melted salted butter

Make crumbs in food processor, drizzle in melted butter and pulse to combine.

Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of crust mixture into lined muffin cups, press down cover bottom of cup. Bake at 350 degrees for about 8-10 minutes. Prepare cheesecake filling.

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake:

1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
1 vanilla bean, split and scraped out (put the bean scrapings into the mixture)
1 large egg
1/2 large egg yolk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Beat together cream cheese, sugar, flour and vanilla bean scrapings with an electric mixer until smooth. Add vanilla, then the egg and yolk, one at a time, beating on low speed until each ingredient is incorporated. Scrape bowl down between additions! Split evenly among the 12 muffin cups. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes or until puffed and slightly dry. Cool completely.

pre-oven

 

baked and ready for a lemon overcoat

Lemon Curd
Adapted from Gourmet

Makes a little shy of 1 cup

6 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon zest, finely grated
6 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Whisk together juice, zest, sugar, and egg in a 1-quart heavy saucepan. Stir in butter and cook over moderately low heat, whisking frequently, until curd is thick enough to hold marks of whisk and first bubble appears on surface, about 4 to 5 minutes. Transfer lemon curd to a bowl and chill, its surface covered with plastic wrap, until cold, at least 1 hour.

To finish:

Dollop lemon curd on top of cooled cheesecakelettes. Try not to devour the whole dozen at once. 😉

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

2 thoughts on “lemon vanilla bean cheesecakelettes”

Leave a Reply

