Here is Love

Six years ago, the worship pastor of the church I attended (and loved!) in Warm Beach, WA, introduced me and the rest of our choir to a beautiful hymn called “Here is Love”. We sang it on Easter Sunday – an Easter Sunday that remains one of the most beloved and precious in my memory. My heart was so alive to the beauty of my Jesus that day…and I belted out these poetic and powerful words with all my being.

This year I learned that this song became popular during the Welsh Revival of 1905 and was called the “love song” of the movement. It was originally written in Welsh by William Rees, and later was translated into English.

Yesterday was Good Friday and as I reflected on the death of Jesus, the words of the second verse swelled in my heart and mind as I pictured the vast and gracious tide of God’s mercy flowing from the hands and feet of Christ onto the ground, down the hill of Calvary and out to all the corners of the Earth. Oh, what love! What indescribable grace!

Though we’re not singing this hymn in our service at church tomorrow morning, its ringing in my soul as I recall His glorious resurrection. Here is Love – Christ is Risen!

Here is love, vast as the ocean,
Lovingkindness as the flood,
When the Prince of Life, our Ransom,
Shed for us His precious blood.
Who His love will not remember?
Who can cease to sing His praise?
He can never be forgotten,
Throughout Heav’n’s eternal days.

On the mount of crucifixion,
Fountains opened deep and wide;
Through the floodgates of God’s mercy
Flowed a vast and gracious tide.
Grace and love, like mighty rivers,
Poured incessant from above,
And Heav’n’s peace and perfect justice
Kissed a guilty world in love.

This video is a cheesy photo slideshow, but the song is what I wanted…Here is Love sung by Matt Redman. I hope it blesses you as it did me. May you know the joy of having your sin forgiven and your eternity secured by the sacrifice of Jesus Christ for you. Happy Easter!

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

