in your easter bonnet with all the frills upon it

when I was about 7, my dance class performed two numbers in our recital. The first was “Easter Parade” and the other was “Lavender Blue” – both archaic songs even in 1989! And for some reason, the lyrics to both have stuck in my head ever since. LOL. So here is our Easter Parade…photos of our family on Easter Sunday. 🙂 Sorry, no bonnets or frills to speak of!


we had a lovely day of celebrating our Risen Savior, starting with Easter songs like “He’s Alive”, “Easter Song” and “Christ is Risen” blasting on the iPod dock while we ate chocolate dutch pancakes. I sang on the worship team for the Easter service at our church and loved every note of it, then we returned to our house to host Easter dinner for both sides of our family. Other than missing my brother Josh and Kyle’s sister Anna, it was a beautiful afternoon of food and family.
Jack got his first Easter basket from Grandma Char and Grandpa Rick and had fun blowing giant bubbles in the beautiful sunshine. I loved that Good Friday and Saturday were both dreary, cool days and on Sunday morning we awoke to the sunshine streaming in the windows. It was as if God was reminding us – the SON has RISEN just as the sun is rising on this beautiful day! 🙂
I am so glad that Christ arose! And the best part is that He still lives and one day will return for His people. Praise His name!
Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

2 thoughts on “in your easter bonnet with all the frills upon it”

  1. We have a toy ring that if you press the center it plays the “Easter Parade.” it’s rather high pitched and fast, but I like it.
    I sang “Lavenders Blue” as an audition song. And I also sing it to my girls at night.
    I love both songs.

Leave a Reply

