FROTW: chocolate dutch pancake

Last week, I was perusing the latest edition of Everyday Food (a terrific little food magazine with great recipes – so far everything I’ve made from its pages have been winners) and came across a recipe for Chocolate Dutch Baby pancake. Some call it an oven pancake, or a dutch pancake, some call it aggekage or pannenkoeken, but whatever the heck you want to call this amazing breakfast food, its delicious! 🙂

My go-to (not chocolate) dutch pancake recipe is memorized and we have it for breakfast about once every ten days. My favorite part is that it is SO fast and easy to whip up and there’s no standing over the stove/griddle to flip pancakes. They also have plenty of protein in them from the eggs and milk. At our house I have to make two pancakes for us – Kyle eats 3/4 of one, I eat 1/2 of the other and Jack eats almost 1/2 as well! I can only imagine how many will be in the oven when we have a larger family. lol.

This chocolate version is tasty and sweeter than the original recipe, so it really only needs a dusting of powdered sugar and some fresh fruit to complete it. No syrup necessary. 🙂 It would make a lovely dessert for a brunch too.

Chocolate Dutch Baby – From Everyday Food, Issue 82 – May 2011

Serves 2-4

3/4 cup milk
3 large eggs
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sifted unsweetened cocoa
1/4 teas. salt
1/2 teas. vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter
Powdered sugar for dusting
Sliced fresh fruit – we used bananas and strawberries
Whipped cream, if desired

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Put butter in a large cast-iron or ovenproof skillet and pop in the oven to melt while you blend up the pancake batter. In a blender, combine milk, eggs, flour, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla and sugar. Blend until foamy, about 1 minute. (You can also whisk all the ingredients together in a mixing bowl, but it gets puffier if you blend it.) Remove skillet with the melted butter from the oven, pour the batter in and return it to the oven to bake for 18-20 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar and serve immediately with fruit and whipped cream, if desired.

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

8 thoughts on “FROTW: chocolate dutch pancake”

  1. So, I should obviously have this memorized by now, but I was making up a big batch tonight and Sweetpea was “helping” and got me so flustered and distracted with all her hovering and chatter that I transposed the sugar and vanilla for a double batch (I make up a double batch for our rectangular big pan and then a single batch for a pie pan) and I put two teaspoons of vanilla in!! Hopefully it doesn’t taste too strong!! LOL!!

  2. Hey, I have made this chocolate one a few times now and we really like it, but I am curious if you could also pass along your recipe for the regular, non-chocolate ones?

    1. yes! its super easy.

      3 eggs
      1/2 cup milk
      1/2 cup flour
      1/4 teaspoon salt
      1 teaspoon sugar
      dash of vanilla

      same mixing and baking instructions. 🙂

  3. Good recipe. We don’t eat dairy so I replaced the milk with 1/2 cup almond milk and 1/2 cup coffee (to intensify the chocolate flavor), left out the butter (used grapeseed oil and flour to grease the pan) and these came out delicious!

  4. It looks like a giant brownie. I love how easy dutch babies are!! It’s one thing I can make easily when I’m not feeling well.

Leave a Reply

