partying al fresco

I am dying to host outdoor parties now that our grass is green, the trees are leafing out and the flowers are blooming.

Two summers ago, Kyle transformed our overgrown jungle of a backyard into a verdant, peaceful haven with a stone fire ring and inviting Adirondack chairs. He and our friend Jesse did the back-breaking work of clearing out the underbrush, pulling up stumps and leveling out the uneven hummocks into a smooth green carpet of cool grass. Isn’t it beautiful? (I took this last year…)

So I have in my head  a brunch or dinner party with rustic, delicious home-cooked food and perfectly mis-matched, vintage-y and rustic environs. Sounds fun, yes?

If its a brunch, it would feature a menu something like this:

  • frittata or quiche with spring produce and fragrant cheese
  • thick cut, maple glazed bacon
  • massive sugar crusted scones studded with dried fruit
  • piles of whipped cream and jam
  • berries of all kinds
  • greek yogurt parfaits with fresh peaches or rhubarb compote topped with almond granola
If it was dinner, something like this:
I envision a backyard scene with elements like these: (inspiration photos to follow)
  • rustic wooden tables
  • mismatched vintage/antique chairs in all finishes and colors
  • gauzy fabric, vintage table linens
  • lots of fresh flowers – wild, natural, twiggy and colorful. definitely daisies and sunflowers mixed in
  • lanterns or big bulbed lights strung in the trees
  • garlands hanging from the trees
  • comfy couches, big chairs mixed with classic outdoor furniture
  • cute citronella candles to keep the mosquitoes at bay
  • lots of friends and family from near and far

we’ll see if this comes to fruition this summer…I’m already throwing at least three other parties before fall: a baby shower, a bridal shower and my little man’s 2nd birthday party. But I sure hope to do it – I LOVE entertaining, beautiful things, people and good food so a party such as the above seems like a fun marriage of those elements, in spite of how much work it would be to pull off.

In addition to those parties, we’ll definitely have plenty of casual dinners on the deck with friends, cookouts and family brunches al fresco! Are you planning to do any outdoor entertaining this summer? Do you have favorite summer recipes?

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

2 thoughts on “partying al fresco”

  1. Johanna, that looks so lovely! I will have to make my way to Minnesota some time just to visit your backyard! I might end up there this fall just prior to the baby arrival, but that also might be cutting it too close 🙂 Someday it would be wonderful to sit down with you over a cup of coffee and just talk about what God’s been doing in our lives! Praying for you in this pregnancy, hope everything continues smooth, can’t wait to see pictures of little Taylor 🙂

  2. Aww. I wanna come! I love to make ice cream in the summer and every 4th of July we make homemade mojitos. I’m especially excited because this year I grew my own mint. We’re planning our first batch of ice cream on Memorial day. I thought that chicken looked good too, and am thinking of giving it a try when Marco is out of town (he doesn’t like to combine fruit with chicken).

Leave a Reply

