random frandom

today was totally exquisite. The sun shone, the wind blew lightly, the temperature was a delightfully temperate 70-ish degrees…a perfect start to one of my favorite months of the entire year. Welcome, June! I hope you’re as wonderful as your first day.

my fridge, freezer and cupboards are stocked with bounty. I’m sort of a food nerd (if you haven’t already realized this) and consequently, I love grocery shopping. I mean really enjoy it. Trader Joe’s and Costco are my playgrounds. Specialty food stores make me giddy. I’ve been known to ask for grocery store gift cards for my birthday so I can spend it on premium items that don’t fit into my monthly food budget.

I’m getting excited about trying to eat more of a “paleo” diet, though I am loathe to cut out delicious bread-stuffs. In the same breath, I’m also considering a new blog project that involves cupcakes. Mostly making them and giving them away. These two food related things completely contradict. Oh well. I am a study of contradictions, I’m sure. 🙂

My 29th birthday is two weeks from tomorrow. It’s totally copying a bunch of random blogs/friends, but I am definitely going to compile a 30 things to accomplish before I turn 30 list to work on in the next year. Fun things mostly. Crazy things some. Totally normal things too. Getting a tattoo is definitely on the list, no negotiating.

I find it super annoying that thanks to new credit regulations, my bank will now be charging me $7 per month to have a checking account unless I keep a balance of more than $1500 at all times. grrrr. I’ve been with them since I was like 10 years old. Really, US Government? 😛

I’m trying to get up my nerve to start potty-training Jackson. Since its really going to be more work for me initially, I’m kinda dragging my feet. But I would also like it to be a habit before Taylor comes and then only have one child in diapers.

I really like Kyle’s new work schedule. The 12 hour shifts really don’t feel that much different than the 10 hour ones and having him only work 5 days in a row feels like a treat every week! I’m not sure what made 6 days in a row feel soooo eternally long, but it did.

And now I’m going to bed. Good night world. 🙂

 

 

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

2 thoughts on “random frandom”

  1. after pottytraining 4, i’d say it is worth the wait. it is so frustrating trying to PT a child when they aren’t physically ready. i waited until Samuel was almost 3 and only had to tell him no more diapers. that’s all it took. it was a little bit harder with the other 2, but much easier than with Margaret who i tried to PT at a year and a half. it was an entire year of frustration until she finally picked it up. but then again, all kids are different. i just realized that having 2 (or 3) in diapers wasn’t that horrible. it was certainly better than me constantly being frustrated with my kiddo for having accidents.

  2. Jackson probably won’t be too hard to potty train…I think that he is ready. Take it slow and don’t get discouraged too easily. He will let you know if it is too much! Lots of patience will be needed. Don’t start it in a week that is already crazy.

    Do a chart with stickers and when he has a few good days in a row, do something special that you don’t normally do all the time…a trip to DQ, Como Zoo, whatever. Just something that he enjoys!

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

