a September morning

If you were to stop by my house this morning, I would pour you a cup of english toffee Kona coffee with your choice of cream and sugar, along with a fresh from the oven oatmeal date muffin. It’s a cool, crisp morning – but the sun is working it’s magic on the world to warm it up. I love these days between summer and fall. They aren’t so hot, but they aren’t so cold. You might need a sweater or hoodie in the morning, but by noon or earlier, you throw it aside to let the sun soak into your skin.

Yesterday marked four weeks to my “due date”. I try not to think of it as a mark to reach, and even though I would love to meet our Taylor or Norah girl sooner rather than later, I also want her lungs to be properly developed and for her to be done cooking. I know God’s timing will be perfect, as it was for Jackson’s arrival. And in the meantime, I’m trying to prepare like crazy…cleaning and making freezer meals and finishing up projects and maybe making some decorations for the kid’s room.

I look at the calendar and the days that will slip by quicker than I care to see them go and wonder which day will be her birthday. I also keep thinking, “I’ve got to do _____ (basically everything) before she comes, since life is about to get oh so much more complicated!” I laugh at myself – remembering how easy life was before ANY kids and how I now think that life with one is so simple compared to life with two. 🙂 I’m slightly afraid I’ll become a hermit this fall/winter because taking them both out will be such an adventure, but my sanguine/relational personality will probably take over like an override switch and I’ll end up hauling them to friend’s houses and their grandparent’s and we’ll all survive once we find our groove.

I find myself in a sweet state of grace with a peaceful heart, which I know is a gift from the Lord as I face the uncertainty of our “new normal” and the difficulty of impending labor. This feeling is one I felt just before Jackson joined us too – a settled calm, even in the midst of preparation and change. I think I better pack my hospital bag. 🙂

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

2 thoughts on “a September morning”

  1. Shopping Carts and baby carriers (whether it be a moby, or carseat) are a mama of two best friends! Daddu going along on shopping trips to chase after the older one works too! 🙂 The first little bit will seem overwhelming with taking two out, but you will have the hang of it before you know it! You definately think twice before you go somewhere though, because it is twice the work and twice the stuff to take!

  2. Would love to come by your house 🙂 I understand your thoughts on baby #2…. I get super excited, impatient… and then I think about how how different it is going to be! I have already told people I may be a little bit of a hermit this fall lol. Will be good to have some time to figure out our new family dynamic… it will be good, we are excited 🙂 You are such a good mom and are already an awesome mama of two!! *hugs

Leave a Reply

