snow day!

even though Jack isn’t in school and I don’t have to go outside the home for my work, today has been declared a snow day! We’re having a good ol’ fashioned snowstorm here in MN at the tail end of winter. It’s been a strangely snow-free, mild season thus far, so most of us are kind of happy to see a big dumpload. And chances are it will be melted in a week or two. After last year’s insanely long, cold and VERY snowy winter, this one has been a welcome break. But I still like a fresh cover of the white drifts over everything like vanilla buttercream over the flat cake top of Minnesota.

As we were making breakfast, we heard a rumbling out the window and saw a 4-wheeler with a plow taking care of our driveway. Our awesome neighbors down the street sent their favorite neighborhood teenager snow remover entrepreneur down to our house AND paid him. Such a sweet kindness. Kyle won’t have to spend an hour or more out there later, but will still get to use his new snow-blower from my parents, just to take care of the few more inches that have fallen since then.  He will be excited!

I made some snow ice cream for Jackson this morning to enjoy after he had tromped around outside and “soveled” the snow. He loved it! I have such fond memories of mom making it for us when I was a child, and knew he would enjoy it too. While he had his snow fix, Taylor happily jumped in her new jumparoo thing that a friend loaned to us. She LOVES it. Bounce, bounce, bounce and spin!

About 2 hours ago I measured the snow on the deck and it was at 8 inches. And it’s still coming down! Now I need to clean my house – the kitchen and dining room floor is in desperate need of a mop and the dust could have stories written in it. 🙂 I hope you’re having a happy day, no matter the weather. As Jackson reminded me in song this morning: “This is the day the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Blessings on you!

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

