when did we become the grown-ups?

In this past year, I feel like its finally sinking in that *I* am an adult now. As if marriage, a house/mortgages, our own bills, a dog, and a kid didn’t already turn me into one. But I’ve never FELT like I was the grown-up. I’ve never FELT like I could possibly be anywhere close to 30.

Maybe it was kid #2 joining the family. Maybe it was seeing friends’ marriages struggle and then fall apart. Maybe it was having our friends from the “young married” days move away. Maybe it was seeing my brother, and Kyle’s sister and Kyle’s brother get married and be in the same place we were 5-6 years ago. Maybe it was learning of the deaths of newborns who should share the same milestones as my baby…I don’t know.

But now I wonder – when did we become the grown ups?

When did we become the ones having kids ? When did our first baby become a little person instead of a helpless tiny? When did our friends go off to war and lose fellow soldiers, brothers, in the field? When did people I know struggle with infertility and heartache of miscarriages? These were all things my parents and their friends had in their lives. Not me. Not young, vivacious us.

When did we become the ones giving advice to the kid* thinking about getting into law enforcement? We were JUST asking older couples with law enforcement lives to give us advice! I swear it was yesterday. Maybe two weeks ago at the most. (*and when did 21 year olds become kids?! Lord help me.) And speaking of kids…when did high schoolers start looking so young? Like I think they’re in jr. high. I’m quite sure I didn’t look (or act) that young when I was in high school.

At any rate – I don’t know how life goes so fast and how I went from a fresh-faced, perky 24 year old to a dark-circled, tired almost-30 year old. From a nanny to a mommy. But here I am. 🙂 And I love this life, even if I’m not sure about being  a grown-up.

also? Twitter makes this generally tech-savvy, Facebook overuser feel like a dinosaur. Still trying to figure out @ and # and all this business. But you can follow me there if you like – jomegs06 is my handle.

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

5 thoughts on “when did we become the grown-ups?”

  1. Oh gosh – I’m so feeling the same way as the big 3-0 will arrive in just a short few weeks – when did we get “old”? LOL I had this thought the other day as I was mopping the kitchen floor – we aren’t playing house anymore!!

  2. i hear ya. i was just telling marco yesterday that i don’t feel old enough to be ::cough:: 40 next month. i still wear sneakers and a pony tail and feel no different than i did when i was 21. please let me know when you figure twitter out. i have an account but i gave up on it long ago.

  3. I realized the other day that I was an adult: I had to look up “scene hair” because I’d never heard of that style, I found out that kids born in 1996 can drive cars, and that a lot of world-famous celebrities are younger than me. But I guess that doesn’t make me an adult– those things just make me old. Hah.

    *groooooooan*

  4. and I have to thank you sooo much for your advice as well! You guys were so great and so helpful! It was a pleasure to meet you and get to know you a little bit!

Leave a Reply

