30 of my favorite things::THREE-OH

today I turn the big 3-0. what? how in the world did I get here? I’m pretty sure I was 23 yesterday. Or the day before.

and now I’ve got a husband, a house, a dog, two kids and a mini-van. {typical American. :rollseyes:}

today and yesterday I’ve been thinking of and singing this song over and over in my head – Sara Groves’ “His Always Been Faithful”. This decade of my life has seen me change the most, I reckon. From a 20 year old single girl working at ITC to a married, mother of two who writes on the side. Through it all – the constant has been my Jesus. Always there, always mine, always faithful.

And here I am. 30. With probably at LEAST another 30 years, probably 50, stretching out in front of me like a long train track dissolving into the far distance. Good memories to spur me onward in my journey. The best is yet to come!

On this day, I thought it would be fun to list a few things I love these days. So, in no particular order of importance…a few of my favorite things.

  1. my husband. He remains one of the best gifts I’ve ever received. 
  2. my children. i cannot believe the blessing of my kids. i love them more than I ever thought possible. 
  3. coffee. dark roast. with cream and sugar or vanilla syrup. or a vanilla latte.
  4. sunshine on my shoulders. 
  5. mountains. I need a mountain fix so badly. 
  6. rainy days. with a good book. 
  7. dark chocolate. 
  8. cupcakes.
  9. coffee dates with my girlfriends. 
  10. sleeping babies on my chest.
  11. the smell of a freshly bathed baby. 
  12. long walks with my love, after dark. 
  13. Lake Superior. (and Duluth.)
  14. traveling. 
  15. my dearest friends and the way they keep me grounded. 
  16. getting real mail. 
  17. sunsets over Port Susan Bay of the Puget Sound. 
  18. Psalm 16
  19. sleeping with the windows open on a cool summer night. 
  20. the book “The Bronze Bow” by Elizabeth George Speare.
  21. cinnamon rolls. 
  22. fresh flowers on my kitchen table. 
  23. a long chat with an old friend. 
  24. Starbucks. 
  25. Target. 
  26. pesto on angel hair pasta. 
  27. “Shawshank Redemption” (movie). 
  28. people who are real. 
  29. pretty paper and stationary and printed things. 
  30. pedicures. 

Today was truly a gift of a day, full of little surprises and big ones, kindnesses and many sweet greetings. I love Facebook for the reason I hear from so many corners of my life on my birthday. Though it is nice to get “real cards” in the mail, its so fun to hear from friends far and wide, even if its a sentence on my timeline. 🙂 Thanks for making my life and this birthday a beautiful one. I cannot wait to see what God has in store for this next decade of my wonderful, blessing-kissed life.

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

