style me july

this month I’ve been participating in a fun little fashion challenge that my friend Margaret let me in on. We’ve been having lots of fun following these daily, simple tips/prompts from Hilary Rushford from Dean Street Society.

Personally, it totally helped me think through outfits and try new things, and I identified some glaring gaps in my closet – namely, prints (I have no idea when I became such a boring solids person), green/red/purple (I tend to lean toward blue/coral/pink/yellow) and a maxi dress or skirt. It also was fun to get out and thrift or shop “my stores” with a goal and concept in mind. I didn’t dress to the nines every day, but I did make more of an effort to be put together all the way each day and that was nice for myself, my husband and the UPS man. (haha!)

There were definitely fail days – the day before Jackson’s birthday party I wore a cruddy old v-neck tee and my gym shorts, dirty hair, no makeup and definitely no style. 🙂 Today I got my denim shorts on, but definitely did NOT take a picture of my (again) dirty hair, baby food stained cami and legs that need shaving. Some days I didn’t have the “perfect” thing, but I made do or looked for something at the thrift store to spice up what I already had. Accessories are a big thing for me – I feel like the right ones can make a ho-hum outfit into a complete look.

Oh, and another lesson: never underestimate the power of lip color. red or otherwise! I’ve rediscovered lipstick/stain/gloss and its been a big win. That fresh swipe of color just does a little magic for my face.

These were some of my favorite challenge outfits:

Channeling Audrey – love her style!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a retro moment (fell in LOVE with this scarf and way to wear it – new to me!)

dress to the floor (I need to go back and buy this skirt – I hope its still at the Gap Outlet!)

daydream vacation (finally found a fedora that fits!)

I definitely had a blast this month, (thanks Marge!) and look forward to giving August my best shot too. If you want to join me, I’d love to see what you put together! You can find me on Instagram at jomegs, or on Facebook. Check out this post for more info on the Style Me Challenge idea.

Is style something that comes easy for you or do you have to work at it? Let me know if you’re up for the challenge this month in the comments!

 

 

 

 

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

