2012 Year in Review

The Year that Was – 2012

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before? fostered kids that aren’t mine. Considered and moved forward with adoption. Filled out more paperwork than I’ve ever had to before.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I made goals again, not resolutions and accomplished about 50% of them. What I didn’t reach: memorizing Ephesians, training for/doing triathlons (couldn’t figure out how to make time!), throw a cool party for Kyle and I for our 30th birthdays, keep track of birthdays and send real cards like I used to do so well and making time to blog.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes! Several friends. 🙂

4. Did anyone close to you die? Not this year.

5. What countries did you visit? Some year I hope i can put countries in here and not just states. I went to Nevada in January with Taylor to see our friends Rob and Rosanna and meet their new little man, Maxwell! Kyle and I went to GA (again with Taylor) in September for the Together for Adoption conference and then I went to WA (with Tayl0r) to visit my brother, friends from WBC and Heidi, who had just had her newest little guy, Jack (yep!), two weeks prior. Taylor was quite the traveler this year! And a good travel buddy too.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012? another child at home with us.

7. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? My birthday – ’cause I turned THIRTY!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? starting the mountain of paperwork necessary for adopting.

9. What was your biggest failure? not sticking with exercise at ALL this year. Seriously did a horrible job of staying in shape. I’m in probably the worst shape ever, not counting being immediately post-partum.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? the usual basic colds/sore throats/stomach flus, and mild sleep deprivation. 

11. What was the best thing you bought? Gosh – I’m not sure! Plane tickets? Shoes?

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? My parents. They helped us so much this year while they lived with us. So unselfish and kind.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? those who took the lives of innocents. heart-breaking and appalling.

14. Where did most of your money go? housing, food, church/missions and gasoline. 

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Adoption! Adding to our family through adoption.

16. What song will always remind you of 2012? To The Ends of the Earth by Caleb.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: happier or sadder? happier. glad to not be two months post-partum this Christmas. 🙂

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? exercising, reading, writing and praying.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? sitting on my butt, whining, frivolity, and judging.

20. How did you spend Christmas? We’ll have our own little gift opening and breakfast as a family, followed by brunch at Kyle’s parent’s home, followed by Christmas dinner at my parent’s home. That is, if we not all still horizontal with the Plague of Christmas 2012. 😦 Everyone but me is down for the count today with coughs, fevers and body aches. :sob:

21. How will you spend New Years? I’m not sure – Kyle is working, so it will probably be me, some champagne and the ball dropping on TV.

22. What was your favorite TV program? Parenthood, Southland and The Office.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? no.

24. What was the best book you read? Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand, hands down. Super amazing.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? JJ Heller.

26. What did you want and got? a new grill! a trip to WA to see friends and family. a promotion for my amazing husband. a closer walk with Jesus.

27. What was your favorite film of this year? Really liked the Avengers! Lincoln was also fabulous. We didn’t see many movies in the theatre this year..

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? turned the big 3-0! We had a fun party at our house, complete with a delicious spread of appetizers, grilled chicken on my new grill and a cake from Wuollet’s, my favorite.

29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? spending more time at the feet of my Savior.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012? much improved! I loved participating in the Dean St. Society Style Challenges several months in the year. Hilary’s style prompts were just what I needed to get out of my style shell and try some new things.

31. What kept you sane? my husband, my parents, coffee, and support from awesome girlfriends.

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I am seriously drawing a blank here. Real people in my real life are far more interesting and inspiring.

33. What political issue stirred you the most? the election didn’t stir me, but it happened.

34. Who did you miss? my best friends that live far away. and my Grandma Alice.

35. Who was the best new person you met? she’s not a new friend, but until this month, I’d never met my dear katy~* in person. She was just as wonderful as I imagined and already can’t wait for the next (much longer, I hope) visit.

36. Tell us some valuable life lessons you learned in 2012:
~I operate better on 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep, but can manage without totally losing my mind on 6, interrupted.
~She Reads Truth is great! Their reading plans made it possible for me to get back into the regular and life-giving habit of Bible reading.
~It’s okay that my kids are my life right now, that I look like a mom, and that there isn’t as much time for “me”.  This too shall pass – the days are long, but the years are short.
~Balancing a marriage, two kids, a household and side jobs is almost more than I can handle, but there is grace. So much grace.
~I feel amazing and am incredibly slim when I don’t eat sugar, most dairy and refined carbs. Remember this, Johanna of 2013!

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

