currently 10.0

current reading material: I just finished the Peter and the Starcatchers series by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson – thoroughly enjoyed all three. Such a fun “intro” to Peter Pan. Now I want to read the original book by J.M. Barrie. I’ve enjoyed different incarnations of the story for years, but never have read the original story (based on a play that Barrie wrote).

I’m also reading The Hole in our Holiness and Thinking. Loving. Doing. The former has been really helpful as I consider sanctification and moving toward being more like Jesus, and the latter is kind of hard slogging for my less than academic mind. 🙂 But it’s good too.

I also recently read The Forgotten God by Francis Chan, about the Holy Spirit – kindled a desire for operating more fully in His power.

current songs o’ delight: For my birthday, Kyle gifted me with some new, wonderful music and some old, favorite CD’s from about ten years ago. I’ve been loving Jon Foreman’s Seasons collection…really beautiful, pretty raw lyrically. Good stuff. I also love The Civil Wars new single “The One that Got Away”, though I’m bummed they are probably finished as a duo.

current projects: preparing for Jack’s fourth birthday party! he has requested a “Lion” party, which I am doing my best to create. Not on the grand scale of last year’s train party, but a lion theme nonetheless. 🙂 We’re having a small park party for friends on his birthday and then dinner with family on the day after.

current recipes I’ve tried: 

My friend Janee told me about this recipe for Loaded Baked Potato Salad. Oh yes. It’s amazing. Bacon, cheese, sour cream and potatoes? mmhm. I almost doubled the the dressings and the bacon, and the potatoes taste best if you boil them in salted water. But yeah, it’s great with a freshly grilled burger and some corn on the cob.

We’ve thoroughly enjoyed the perch and walleye that Kyle and Jack caught on their fishing trip in May. I found this recipe for battering fish and deep frying and I’m totally sold. It comes out so perfectly and tastes incredible with this homemade tartar sauce. I’m just sad that we ate all the fish! Time to go catch more. Maybe Kyle will take me soon.

current hair color: dark brown, but slowly lightening with all the time I’ve been in the sun lately.

current events: last week, we enjoyed a lovely time in northeast WI, spending time in the north woods with our pastor’s family at Northland Camp. It was a kid wonderland and we had such a fun time packing in the activities each day. Much coffee and chatting was shared among the adults too.

upcoming events:

1. Jack’s FOURTH birthday. How is this possible? A week from tomorrow, my firstborn will be four. :sob: He has grown up so much in the past few months. He’s definitely a boy, and I’m so glad he’s ours.

2. Kyle goes to Cass Lake for a very long nine days. 🙂 The kids and I have many fun things planned while he is gone though.

current photos:

I love that her hair is long enough for little pigtails now. 🙂 And that she leaves them in!

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

1 thought on “currently 10.0”

Leave a Reply

