currently 11.0

current reading material: I’ve stalled out on my reading list from this year, but Kyle and I are reading Standing on the Promises by Doug and Nancy Wilson together and we’re reading Multiply by Francis Chan in our small group. I’m sure once the baby arrives in a week or two, I’ll plow through a few books again while nursing the little guy/girl. I have the next Ashtown Burials book, The Drowned Vault, by N.D. Wilson waiting on my Kindle app.

Any recently enjoyed recommendations?

current songs o’ delight: Last weekend at a wedding, some friends of ours sang this beautiful version of an old hymn. I’d heard it before, but it had been awhile. I’ve been singing it all week and then it was in the set list for our worship service this morning, much to my delight! I hope it covers you with the peace and assurance and joy that it did me.

And I’m in love with this new(ish) song from the Goo-Goo Dolls too. Seven years ago, their song “I’ll Stay with You” was “our song”, and this new one’s chorus is totally our love/life now. Kyle really is my sweetest friend.

current projects: Well, you know – I’m nesting. So there was Move Jack to a New Room two weeks ago, then the Epic Day of Freezer Meals this week. Thank you to my mom and mother-in-law for helping with childcare and preparation! Then there was Put Baby’s Crib Together, thanks to my dad, while Kyle took care of One Million Leaves on the Ground in our yard. This week I have a few last recipes to toss in the freezer, and I’d love to get a jump start on buying Christmas gifts (but that’s unlikely) and then I’m good and ready for this kid to make his/her appearance.

current recipes I’ve tried:
These pumpkin cookies were amazing and easy.
This hot cocoa popcorn was fun and different. My kids mostly picked out the marshmallows, haha.

current hair color: a mix of old reddish tones and my natural ashy blonde/brown, but I chopped off 6 inches and have a cute lob (long-bob) now! Needed something fresh, flippy and easy to care for without wanting to toss it in an ol’ ponytail every day with the new one arriving.

20131110-233229.jpg

current events: today we recognized Orphan Sunday at church, a week “late”. It was really encouraging, and makes me super grateful to be part of a church that supports the cause of the orphan so consistently.

And tonight, we spontaneously took the kids bowling and out for sundaes – $13 and priceless memories. 🙂 I really love these people God has given me.

upcoming events: I think having a baby would be awesome! Sometime before Thanksgiving, please and thank you. Then there’s Thanksgiving. And then it will be December! But my life in December is going to be pretty low-key, just snuggling that new baby and recovering from birth. I hope we can keep up with doing Advent readings and some special activities for the kids as we anticipate celebrating the Birth of Jesus, our Savior.

And I’m really looking forward to seeing my brothers and sister-in-law over Christmas. It will be the first time we’ve all been together for Christmas since 2010! There will be much joy and cheer. 🙂

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

