books for 2014

I’m totally stoked that i read (most of) 20 books last year! I’ve come a long way, baby. In 2011 I read 6 books. In 2012, I read 12 books. Last year, 20! So this year, I’m shooting for 25.

2013 Books (in no particular order)

  1. Real Marriage – Mark and Grace Driscoll
  2. The Explicit Gospel – Matt Chandler
  3. Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy – Eric Metaxas
  4. Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl – N.D. Wilson
  5. Give Them Grace – Elise Fitzpatrick
  6. The Hole in our Holiness – Kevin deYoung
  7. Peter and the Starcatchers – Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson
  8. Peter and the Shadow Thieves – Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson
  9. Peter and the Secret of Rundoon – Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson
  10. The Book Thief (skipped part of the middle) – Markus Zusak
  11. Fit to Burst – Rachel Jankovic
  12. Building Her House – Nancy Wilson
  13. Forgotten God – Francis Chan
  14. Power of Prayer – E.M. Bounds
  15. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas – John Boyne
  16. 100 Cupboards – N.D. Wilson
  17. I Am Half-Sick of Shadows – Alan Bradley
  18. Speaking from Among the Bones – Alan Bradley
  19. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet – Jamie Ford
  20. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Foer

Books for 2014 (again, no particular order)

Multiply – Francis Chan (reading this in small group, started last year)
Standing on the Promises – Doug and Nancy Wilson (started last year)

  1. The Drowned Vault – N.D. Wilson
  2. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches – Alan Bradley
  3. Praise Her in the Gates – Nancy Wilson
  4. Live Like a Narnian – Joe Rigney
  5. How People Change – Paul Tripp and Timothy Lane
  6. Gospel-Powered Parenting – William Farley
  7. Five Days in November – Clint Hill
  8. Songs of Willow Frost – Jamie Frost
  9. Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein
  10. The Boys in the Boat – Daniel James Brown
  11. The Monuments Men – Robert Edsel
  12. Call the Midwife – Jennifer Worth
  13. The Astronaut Wives Club – Lily Koppel
  14. Sarah’s Key – Tatiana de Rosnay
  15. Death By Living – N.D. Wilson
  16. The Grace Effect – Larry Taunton
  17. The Connected Child – Karen Purvis
  18. Thinking. Loving. Doing – John Piper, etc.
  19. Seabiscuit – Laura Hillenbrand
  20. The Kite Runner – Khalid Hosseini
  21. Same Kind of Different as Me – Ron Hall
  22.  Surprised by Joy – C.S. Lewis
  23. Parenting with Love and Logic – Foster Cline and Jim Fay
  24. My Life in France – Julia Child
  25. The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

I think that’s a good mix of non-fiction and fiction, self-help and just for enjoyment. 🙂 I’m excited because as I read good authors, good writers, good words – I am grown, stretched and aspire to better writing and thinking and doing in my own real life.

Books I’m most excited to read: Death By Living, The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia was left hanging on a serious cliff at the end of the last book – very, very mean of you, Mr. Bradley), Live Like a Narnian and My Life in France.

Honestly, I’m really looking forward to each title on the list for various reasons. They all interest me, or are subjects about which I’m passionate, or are really needed in my life. Some will be easy reads, some will bend my brain and challenge my thinking. Some will be easy to flip through on my Kindle app while I watch the kids play outside, others will require undistracted silence and a hard copy to hold and underline. But all of them will shape me.

As Charlie “Tremendous” Jones said, “You’re the same today as you’ll be in five years except for the people you meet and the books you read.” Here’s to being a better person with more stories read and more stories to tell and the ability to tell them better in five years. 🙂

What are you reading or hope to read in this new year?

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, a sweet puppy, a beautiful baby boy, a lovely house in a small town, and two great jobs that allow me to mostly work from home. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee and vanilla lattes.

Leave a Reply

