2015 Year in Review

The Year that Was – 2015

1. What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before? went to Haiti, vacationed with girlfriends in Denver, started learning a new language (Creole), and became a (foster) mommy to preemie girls.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I made goals again, (not resolutions) and only accomplished a few. It was kind of a depressing year for unmet goals, but i also have to take into account that I had surprise foster babies twice in the past six months.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? yes! Several good friends. No new nieces or nephews this year, though.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Not this year.

5. What countries did you visit? HAITI! and I also visited Colorado for the first time beyond the Denver airport. And we did our epic road trip to FL and back over New Years 2015.

6. What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015? I repeat from last year: our yet unknown, but very loved already, child home from Haiti. More patience and time (use what I have more wisely).

7. What date from 2015 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? 

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? helping to raise two tiny preemie girl babies that came to our home through foster care. Most of the second half of 2015 was consumed by caring for their precious, tiny selves. That I survived this year and didn’t completely self-destruct is a miracle from heaven above.

9. What was your biggest failure? not losing these stubborn pounds, in spite of my not-small efforts. I guess being the ripe old age of 33 and stress worked against me like a dynamic duo. 😛

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? 

11. What was the best thing you bought? 

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? This one goes again to KYLE. He encourages me, plays with and loves our kids, is a kick-butt deputy/sergeant, loves Jesus and His people well, serves others, makes the important things a priority and is just a really awesome guy. I love him.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Donald Trump. The Republican party that spoke out against accepting refugees from Syria.

14. Where did most of your money go? housing, food, church/missions and gasoline.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Going to HAITI! it was so amazing and I cannot wait to go back.

16. What song will always remind you of 2015? Rend Collective’s whole “As Family We Go” album,

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: happier or sadder? about the same –

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Praying. Reading. Writing. Playing with my kids.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Stressing out. Being short with my kids.

20. How did you spend Christmas? we opened gifts at our house on Christmas morning, then went to my parent’s to open gifts with the whole family, then on to Kyle’s parent’s to open gifts with his family! It was a full, full day.

21. How will you spend New Years? With my people, maybe at a church party, then at home. I probably will go to bed early and welcome 2016 the following morning.

22. What was your favorite TV program? Sherlock and Parenthood. 

23. What was the best book you read? 

24. What was your greatest musical discovery? New music by Rend Collective

25. What did you want and got? A trip to Haiti.

27. What was your favorite film of this year? 

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 33 and had a really nice getaway with Kyle overnight. We went for a run by the Mississippi, drank coffee on the deck at my parent’s house,  ate lunch outdoors at Sea Salt, and then went back to our crazy kids. So kind of my parent’s to watch them so we could enjoy a little break.

29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? the adoption process being over and a child home in our arms.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015? Basic and colorful.

31. What kept you sane? my husband, my friends, coffee, and the Word.

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? 

33. What political issue stirred you the most? The refugee crisis.

34. Who did you miss? my best friends that live far away. and my Grandma Alice.

35. Who was the best new person you met? 

36. Tell us some valuable life lessons you learned in 2014:
Life with three kids is insanity. I developed a deep love for SILENCE this year. 🙂
The journey of adoption rarely goes the way you anticipate. And the road is long…
I love throwing parties and I’m good at it.
My heart language is music and drama and performance. If I don’t sing, I die.

And here comes 2016!  Welcome to a new year – I am excited to see what miracles and beauty you hold and what challenges you bring our way, all under the mighty hand of God.

Author: jomegs

my life is full and beautiful because the Lord of all creation has seen fit to take me as His own. I have a wondeful husband, five incredible kids, a sweet yellow lab, and we live in a lovely house in a small town. I throw the occasional temper tantrum, love good food, bake drool-worthy treats, and have a love affair with French-pressed coffee, mountains, and the North Shore of Lake Superior.

Leave a comment